Tantrum Warehouse
Tact Free Since 2003

Conversion #2

2004-11-04
One of the things that really drew me towards Judaism is the way it deals with sin.

We don't really think about sin the way that Christians do. Christians are obsessed with sin. They focus on it in a way that makes it seem like people are fundimentally sinners and evil.

And when you give in to the inevitable and sin you just ask God for forgiveness. Jesus died to absolve you of your sins after all.

I don't get that. I don't get it at all.

Judaism teaches that if you do something wrong, if you hurt some one, even accidentally, it is your role to seek forgiveness from that person. And to do your best to make it right. That God loves every person the same so it is our job to make peace with each other.

Think about how much better the world would be if that happened on a larger scale.

If when some one stole something they just gave it back, and tried to help the victim of the crime to fix it. Now, I know that this doesn't happen and I am not advocating that we get rid of jails or laws or anything else. But I do believe that we have this problem in our society. This sense that we can do whatever we want to one another and just ask for forgiveness later. There is never a price to pay.

Judaism doesn't believe that we can be saved as individual souls. I don't believe that either. I think that as a people we are here to achieve something. That we have a purpose. And that purpose is to create a peaceful and just world. That is accepting and loving. A world that cares for its members. And that none of us will be saved until that happens.

I know that this is a little heavy for this early in the morning. But I do get a lot of questions about why I am converting.

Here is your answer:

Because I don't think God gives a shit about gay sex or that he is against any one religion. I don't think He cares about alcohol or music or swearing. I think that the only things that are important are what kind of people we are and how we treated one another.

And also, who will win America's Top Model. Because it should be Toccarra. I don't care what that bitch Janice Dickenson says.

8:36 a.m. :: comment ::
prev :: next