Tantrum Warehouse
Tact Free Since 2003

Food Issues

2004-11-09
The husband has an eating disorder.

Its not one that I have ever heard a name for. I am not sure it is recognized by any medical associations. Its freaky.

He forgets to eat.

Now I just don't fucking understand this.

How can you be hungry and feel hunger and just not think "maybe I should get myself an apple?"

But he will wait for HOURS and then be starving and then eat.

Which is why we have so many issues with food in our house. Because he doesn't eat in predictable patterns and will binge at any time. He doesn't purge. This is not bulemia. Its something very strange.

I know that it undoubtedly relates to being poor as a child. You don't notice hunger when you are hungry every day. And that makes me sad. Because no child should have to grow up that way. And I know the bingeing is from the food being available. When he was growing up you ate as much as you could because the food wouldn't be there tomorrow.

But it can still make me sad.

And it can still make me struggle to figure out how to help him.

He doesn't have a medical condition. There is no treatment facility. But I wish I could help him. I wish I could convince him that we won't ever go hungry. That he doesn't have to starve himself. That the food will be there tomorrow. And the day after that.

But I have no idea how to do that.

8:16 a.m. :: comment ::
prev :: next